All About Delhi PCS: Ultimate Guide



The Delhi PCS (Public Service Commission) exam, also known as the Delhi Administrative Service (DAS) exam, is conducted to select candidates for administrative positions in the National Capital Territory of Delhi. Consisting of Preliminary, Main exams, and a Personality Test, it evaluates candidates on various subjects such as General Studies, Indian Heritage, Ethics, and more. The exam aims to recruit competent individuals capable of efficiently managing administrative responsibilities within the Delhi government.

The Delhi PCS (Public Service Commission) exam, officially known as the Delhi Administrative Service (DAS) Exam, is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) to recruit candidates for various administrative positions in the National Capital Territory of Delhi. The syllabus for the Delhi PCS exam is broadly similar to the syllabus of the Civil Services Examination conducted by the UPSC. Here’s a detailed overview of the syllabus:

1. Preliminary Examination:

Paper I: General Studies-I

  • Current events of national and international importance
  • History of India and Indian National Movement
  • Indian and World Geography – Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World
  • Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
  • Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.
  • General issues on Environmental Ecology, Biodiversity, and Climate Change
  • General Science

Paper-II: General Studies-II

  • Comprehension
  • Interpersonal skills including communication skills
  • Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  • Decision-making and problem-solving
  • General mental ability
  • Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency, etc. – Class X level)

2. Main Examination:

Paper I:Essay

  • Candidates will be required to write an essay on a specific topic.
  • The choice of subjects will be given.

Paper II: General Studies-I

  1. Indian Heritage and Culture
  2. History and Geography of the World and Society

Paper III: General Studies-II

  1. Governance
  2. Constitution
  3. Polity
  4. Social Justice and International Relations

Paper IV: General Studies-III

  1. Technology
  2. Economic Development
  3. Bio-Diversity
  4. Environment
  5. Security and Disaster Management

Paper V: General Studies-IV

  • Ethics
  • Integrity
  • Aptitude

Paper VI: Optional Subject – Paper I

Paper VII: Optional Subject – Paper II

3. Personality Test (Interview):

Candidates who qualify in the Main Examination are called for the Personality Test. The purpose of the interview is to assess the candidate’s personal suitability for a career in public service by a Board of competent and unbiased observers.


  • The optional subjects for Papers VI and VII can be chosen from a list of subjects provided by the Commission. Candidates need to choose one optional subject from the given list.
  • It’s important for candidates to stay updated with any changes in the syllabus and exam pattern notified by the Union Public Service Commission or the concerned authority conducting the exam.


In conclusion, the Delhi PCS exam serves as a gateway for individuals aspiring to serve in administrative roles within the government of the National Capital Territory. With its comprehensive evaluation process spanning Preliminary, Main exams, and a Personality Test, it aims to identify and select candidates equipped with the necessary knowledge, skills, and integrity to effectively contribute to the governance and development of Delhi.

For the Detailed Syllabus: CLICK HERE

To know more: CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *